A man named Jordan, who is a vegetarian and could only choose from a limited menu at McDonald’s, will no longer be a customer of the fast-food chain. Last week, Jordan used the TikTok social media app created in China to uncover that McDonald’s fries are not vegetarian. He revealed that the fast-food chain uses beef flavoring to cook their renowned French fries. This news has appalled millions of vegetarians and vegans who feel misled by McDonald’s.

At this point, Jordan’s viral video has almost 10 million views and is still educating viewers about the fact that McDonald’s was using beef flavoring to give their French fries a cow-like taste. Jordan mentioned in his video that he is aware of numerous secrets related to fast food. However, he decided to share only one tip with his followers about McDonald’s fries, which is that they are not actually vegetarian.

“I know why McDonald’s fries taste different from everybody else’s fries,” he stated. “And I’m going to tell you guys. It’s because McDonald’s cooks their fries with beef flavoring mixed with vegetable oil. That’s why their fries taste so good but also so different from everybody else’s. It’s probably bad news for vegetarians, but the more you know.”

Vegetarians can still purchase French fries from McDonald’s in certain locations worldwide. Jordan, who considers himself a fast-food expert, confirms that McDonald’s does not include beef flavoring in their fries in the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia. Therefore, vegetarians in these countries can confidently order fries without any worries.

“They cook the fries with regular oil, so if you’re vegetarian, you can have the fries in those places.”

On their website, McDonald’s has shared details about the beef flavoring used in their French fries. While the information is straightforward, it may not be well-received by vegetarians who may have been unaware of this for a long time.

“When our suppliers partially fry our cut potatoes, they use an oil blend that contains beef flavoring,” the fast-food company says on its website page. “This ensures the great-tasting and recognizable flavor we all love from our world-famous fries.”

The video posted by Jordan revealed that McDonald’s is using beef flavoring on their French fries in the United States and many other countries, which has left thousands of TikTok users heartbroken, shocked, and horrified.

One person said, “I’M VEGETARIAN.”

“My whole life is a lie,” another person wrote.

Several individuals supported Jordan’s video discussing how McDonald’s fries have beef flavoring.

“This is true; I went to culinary school with someone who worked there.”

Someone else added: “As a former worker (at McDonald’s), this is true.”

Wendy’s and Burger King’s fries are vegan.